EASTRON SDM630DC

mstuetz
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:20 pm

EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by mstuetz » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:18 pm

Hi!
I did not follow the thread regarding SDM120, but i monitor my whole house consumption with a almost similar SDM630DC from Eastron (just 3 pahse). This is the best meter for a affordable price. The measurements are very accurate according to my master electrician.
I connected the meter with a eth-rs485 converter (USR-TCP232-24) and wrote a little c program on my raspberry clone pulling the data from it. It is based on libmodbus library with rtu-over-tcp patch.
Since i have geothermal heating with an extra meter, i installed a second SDM630DC, connected to the same rs485 bus.
So with my programm i am polling both meters now and meterN uses this data.
Got almost 3 installations running for a couple of weeks, no problem so far.

If someone is intererrested, i can provide program and even brandnew SDM630DC devices.

flane
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:22 am

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by flane » Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:30 pm

Great Job mstuetz,
it would be interesting make it compatible with Metern.

mstuetz
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:20 pm

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by mstuetz » Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:32 pm

Sure!
Code for the program can be found here:http://hostcode.sourceforge.net/view/3259
It gets compiled with this command:

Code: Select all

gcc sdm630.c -o sdm630 `pkg-config --cflags --libs libmodbus`
You need to install libmodbus with RTUoverTCP patch (https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/l ... 97y9_mhwgJ).
If you need a USB version (for USB-RS485 adapter) just let me know. I had this setup running for a few month but decided then to get it on the lan(IP).
The poller creates files /tmp/ACTsdm630.txt and /tmp/ACTsdm630WP.txt for this 2 SDM630DC devices on the bus (ID 1 and 8) and updates it every 10secs.
In meterN you just have to create sensors with "command":

Code: Select all

more /tmp/ACTsdm630.txt | grep "\<4(.*Wh\>"
and "live command"

Code: Select all

more /tmp/ACTsdm630.txt | grep "\<4(.*W\>"
.
Cheers,
Mario

flane
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:22 am

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by flane » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:11 am

Thanks Mario,
it's possible to have also the USB-RS485 version?

mstuetz
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:20 pm

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by mstuetz » Thu Oct 22, 2015 2:59 pm

Hi!
Sorry for the delay.
Code for a single SDM630modbus via a USB-RS485 on your linux box can be found here:
http://hostcode.sourceforge.net/view/3602
Regards,
Mario

flane
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:22 am

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by flane » Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:15 am

thanks Mario ;)

aszczupal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:33 pm

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by aszczupal » Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:08 pm

Hello everybody. This is my first post..
I just start MeterN witch SDM630C.
Do You have a "pooler" script like a "pooler485" from SDM120C to prepare proper "meter1.txt file ?

Regards
Adam

jeanmarc
Posts: 1580
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:16 am

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by jeanmarc » Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:24 am

Hi,
You can query your meter directly if you don't use the daemon method (eg: sdm120c -a1 -b9600 -2 -m -i /dev/sdm)

aszczupal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:33 pm

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by aszczupal » Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:38 am

Hi .
No , because SDM120 take only information from 1 phase.. , I need information from 3 phase total..
SDM630 use different register for that. I'am not able to modify SDM120C program...
It would be best if Pongo (gianfrdp) will modify his great program ( I wrote to him..) . but... no answer yet:)
below output from my SDM , first , the real value (from SDM630), then output from SDM120c.
Take a look for Current , and Power

Regards
Adam
----------------------------------

/sdm630
..........
L1_Volt:238.843307
L2_Volt:239.287430
L3_Volt:241.560501
L1_Amps:0.667703
L2_Amps:1.601023
L3_Amps:0.341275
L1_Watt:146.285706
L2_Watt:375.078278
L3_Watt:80.355919
P_TOT_W:601.719910
P_FACTO:0.966450
IMPO_WH:19.344000
EXPO_WH:0.000000
READ SUCCESSFUL

---------------------------------
sdm120c -2 -a1 -b 9600 -w2 /dev/ttyUSB0
Voltage: 238.84 V
Current: 0.67 A
Power: 146.48 W
Active Apparent Power: 159.86 VA
Reactive Apparent Power: -64.02 VAR
Power Factor: 0.92
Phase Angle: -23.61 Degree
Frequency: 50.03 Hz
Import Active Energy: 19343 Wh
Export Active Energy: 0 Wh
Total Active Energy: 19343 Wh
Import Reactive Energy: 28 VARh
Export Reactive Energy: 4723 VARh
Total Reactive Energy: 4752 VARh
OK

aszczupal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:33 pm

Re: EASTRON SDM630DC

Post by aszczupal » Thu Mar 17, 2016 11:19 am

Hi , I did it myself .

I put some modifications to original program in C
( for example rounded some value....)
Here are results... :D

# ./sdm630_1
1_1_1F(236.4*V)
1_1_2F(238.6*V)
1_1_3F(239.4*V)
1_1(238.17*V)
1_2_1F(0.48*A)
1_2_2F(0.74*A)
1_2_3F(0.76*A)
1_2(2.54*A)
1_3(50.0*Hz)
1_1F(83.23*W)
1_2F(152.45*W)
1_3F(180.46*W)
1(416.14*W)
1_4(0.95*F)
1(221442*Wh)

Still have some problems with current ( summary ) , but maybe I got wrong information from SDM630 .

regards
Adam

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest